Plebiscite on conversion of Baliwag as component city of Bulacan to be held early 2023

Share this information:

THE Commission on Elections (Comelec) has set January 14, 2023 as the date for the plebiscite that intends to certify the conversion of the municipality of Baliwag as a component city of the province of Bulacan.

Based on Resolution No. 10834 issued yesterday, the plebiscite will give the town’s residents the opportunity to vote whether to accept or reject the proposal.

Now, therefore, the Commission on Elections hereby sets the date of the plebiscite to ratify the conversion of the Municipality of Baliwag in the Province of Bulacan into a component city to be known as the City of Baliwag on January 14, 2023,” the poll body said.

The resolution also said that the plebiscite season will start on December14, 2022 up to January 21, 2023.

During the said period, activities such as possession of firearms, maintaining of a labor strike, suspension of local elective officials, including transfer or reassignment of Civil Service-eligible employees, are strictly prohibited.

On the other hand, the campaign period will start on December 14, 2022 and will end on January 12, 2023.

Activities that will be allowed during this period are the holding of barangay assemblies, fora o “pulong-pulong” while the destruction, interfering, or preventing the distribution of legal plebiscite propaganda are also not allowed.

Voting will start at 7 am and will end at 3 pm.

Vote counting will start immediately after voting officially closes, followed by the canvassing of votes and announcement of results.  

The holding of the plebiscite is in accordance with Republic Act 11929, known as “An Act Converting the Municipality of Baliwag in the Province of Bulacan Into a Component City to Be Known as the City of Baliwag,” which was enacted into law on July 30, 2022.

The Comelec shall conduct and supervise such plebiscite. The expenses for such plebiscite shall be borne by the Municipality of Baliwag,” according to the law.

Once ratified, Baliwag will become the fourth city in Bulacan, aside from San Jose del Monte, Meycauayan, and the province’s capital, Malolos.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.