“Unity is the key to a city’s success,” Mayor Abalos tells newly elected barangay and SK officials in Mandaluyong

Share this information:

THE newly elected barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan (SK) officials in Mandaluyong City were told that unity is the key to the success of a city, and this will only happen if every barangay is progressive, peaceful, and united.

This was the message of Mandaluyong City Mayor Ben Abalos as he led the oathtaking of the city’s new barangay and SK officials, which was held today at the Mandaluyong College of Science and Technology (MCST) Gymnasium at 10 a.m. for the barangay officials, while the new SK members were sworn into office at 3 p.m.

The new barangay and SK officials that won during the recently concluded Barangay and SK Elections (BSKE) 2023 and were sworn in came from the city’s 27 barangays.

Among the witnesses to the oathtaking ceremony were Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) Secretary Benhur Abalos, Congressman Neptali “Boyet” Gonzales II, Mandaluyong City Vice Mayor Menchie Abalos, and the city’s councilors.

Vice Mayor Abalos advised the winning barangay officials to use this opportunity to unite and serve their constituents without hesitation.

Secretary Abalos, on the other hand, emphasized that being elected as barangay officials is a huge responsibility, and that the Philippines is the only country globally that implements the barangay system. He also encouraged them to be innovative when it comes to the development of programs for their respective communities.

For his part, Congressman Gonzales reminded the newly elected barangay officials not to forget that they are not only public leaders but also public servants.

According to data from the Commission on Elections (Comelec) office in Mandaluyong, 16 barangay captains were reelected, while 11 were newly elected barangay chiefs.

(MAIN PHOTO: Members of the Sangguniang Kabataan of Brgy. San Jose in Mandaluyong City, led by SK Chairman Romark Orias and SK Kagawads Naomi Sabado, Bea Mae Inocencio, Julia Faith Dela Cruz, Heiczel Esguerra, Jacinto Maure, Marian Porquez, and Mary Grace Bartoloba, are shown here taking their oath in front of Mandaluyong City Mayor Ben Abalos and Vice Mayor Menchie Abalos)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.