Comelec releases new tentative list of presidential, VP aspirants for 2022 polls

Share this information:

THE Commission on Elections (Comelec) released today a new tentative list of aspirants for national positions in the May 2022 national and local elections.

The poll body’s new tentative list now contains 15 (from the initial 97) presidential and nine (from the original 28) vice presidential bets based on the Certified List of Candidates released Friday, December 24, 2021.

The initial list posted last October 29, 2021 originally contained 97 names.

The tentative list of presidential bets are listed below (in alphabetical order):

  • Abella, Ernie
  • Andes, Hilario
  • Arcega, Gerald
  • De Guzman, Leody
  • Domagoso, Isko Moreno
  • Gonzales, Norberto
  • Lacson, Ping
  • Lihaylihay, Danilo
  • Mangondato, Faisal
  • Marcos, Bongbong
  • Marcos, Maria Aurora
  • Montemayor, Jose Jr.
  • Niez, Edgar
  • Pacquiao, Manny Pacman
  • Robredo, Leni

As for the tentative list of vice presidential bets, they are (in alphabetical order):

  • Atienza, Lito
  • Bello, Walden
  • David, Rizalito
  • Duterte, Sara
  • Lopez, Manny SD
  • Ong, Doc Willie
  • Pangilinan, Kiko
  • Serapio, Carlos
  • Sotto, Vicente

Aside from the presidential and vice presidential candidates, the Comelec also bared a tentative list of 70 senatorial aspirants and candidates in the local level.

The list, the poll body says, is based on the initial evaluation of the Certificates of Nomination, Certificates of Candidacy and Certificates of Nomination and Acceptance of the candidates.

Consequently, the contents of the list, particularly the names of the aspirants/candidates, political parties, as well as the name to appear on the ballot are subject to change as a result of any further evaluation and/or resolution of the Commission En Banc in relation thereto,” the poll body said. 

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.