Thrills, shrills mark second leg of Toyota GAZOO Racing Vios Cup

Share this information:

THRILLS and shrills marked the fun and adrenaline-filled weekend when Toyota Motor Philippines (TMP) racing events brought back racers and fans to the Clark International Speedway (CIS) for a thrilling second leg of the 2022 TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Vios Cup.

Headlined by TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Philippines circuit racers, veteran and up and coming racers from different teams, celebrities, influencers and members of media dashed back to the track to claim spots in the podium for Circuit Championship and Autocross Challenge.

The speedway roared with heart-pounding cheers as the battle in the Circuit Championship got heated with every drift on the track. A total of 28 circuit racers participated across three categories—Promotional, Sporting and Super Sporting classes—each of them gave their best to complete a podium finish race, but only the best remained on top.

Promotional Class winner Jay Lao

This time, Jay Lao of Happy Hotels/OT Racing Team claimed the top spot in the Promotional Class; followed by Toyota Team Cebu’s Alan Palacios and Jarond Mesina in second and third places, respectively. In the Sporting Class, it was Jiro Garbes of JB Racing/Toyota San Fernando who championed as Russell Cabrera of Toyota Team Cebu and Royce Sarmiento of RMS Cars Racing Team followed to claim the second and third spots. Lastly, R Racing Team’s Bryan Co took the first place in the Super Sporting Class, followed by Inigo Anton representing Toyota North EDSA – Obengers Racing Team then Gerard Loy of R Racing Team took the third place.

Sporting Class king Jiro Garbes

Meanwhile, the energy in the Autocross Challenge started and ended with a high as influencers and members of media excitedly finish the obstacle challenges. Coming back stronger this leg 2, Miguel Romulo took the first place in the Celebrity Promotional Autocross; followed by Ashley Gosiengfiao in second and Carla Lizardo in the third place. Standing on the first spot podium for the Celebrity Sporting Autocross is Jules Aquino, with Arron Villaflor and Enzo Pineda coming in second and third places, respectively.

Autocross Challenge Influencer Promotional Class Champion, Miguel Romulo

The same excitement filled the races for the Media Autocross Challenge. Pablo Salapantan took the first spot in the Promotional Media Autocross with Niko Villegas and Siegwald Go followed right behind him. Jamil Lacuna took his game to the next level, defending his first-place finish for Sporting Media Class, with Roy Robles coming behind him at second place and Ronald de los Reyes taking the third place.

TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Gran Turismo (GR GT) Cup racers were also back to join the fun at the Autocross Challenge. Luis Moreno took the first place, followed by Russel Reyes and Mark Elman in the second and third places respectively.

Adding fun to an already thrilling weekend, motorsports enthusiasts also got a chance to meet the newest addition to the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing line up—the All-New GR 86—as it navigated the speedway alongside the GR Yaris.

Toyota GR 86

TMP continues to live by its goal of supporting and promoting motorsports in the country by pushing limits for better with TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Vios Cup. Motorsports fans are encouraged to support the TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Vios Cup as it concludes with Leg 3, happening this November.

The TOYOTA GAZOO Racing Vios Cup is made possible with the cooperation of Bridgestone and Petron, together with other sponsors Brembo, Denso, OMP, Tuason Racing, AVT, 3M, ROTA, myTOYOTA Wallet and Kinto One.

Tune in for the latest updates on Toyota events. Visit the official website at, follow Toyota Motor Philippines and TOYOTA GAZOO Racing PH on Facebook and Instagram, ToyotaMotorPH on Twitter and join us on Viber at Toyota PH.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.