24 towns, four cities now under Comelec control; contingency measures in place

Share this information:

A TOTAL of 24 towns and four cities have been subjected to the control of the Commission on Elections (Comelec) due to issues of security in relation to the upcoming May 9 national and local elections.

Philippine National Police (PNP) spokesperson Police Colonel Jean Fajardo announced that these areas will be strictly monitored by the PNP, Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP), and the Philippine Coast Guard (PCG).

There are at least 24 towns and four cities that were already declared under the Comelec control as of May 4. And these will be the focus of the deployment of PNP, AFP, and the PCG come May 9,” ani Fajardo.

However, Fajardo did not mention the names of these areas that are under Comelec control.

The poll body earlier announced the names of some of the areas under Comelec control. These are Pilar, Abra; the towns of Buluan, Datu Odin Sinsuat, Datu Piang, Mangudadatu, Pandag, and Sultan Kudarat in Maguindanao; Marawi City, the towns of Maguing, Tuburan, and Malabang in Lanao del Sur; the towns of Calamba, Concepcion, Don Victoriano Chiongbian (Don Mariano Marcos), Lopez Jaena, Aloran, Baliangao, Bonifacio, Clarin, Jimenez, Panaon, Plaridel, Sapang Dalaga, Sinacaban, Tudela, Ozamiz City, Tangub City, and Oroquieta City in Misamis Occidental.

Meanwhile, a total of 14 election-related incidents were recorded by the PNP. This is lower compared to the 133 recorded in 2016 and 60 in the most recent 2019 elections.

If we compare the 14 validated election related incidents as of May 4, this is way below the recorded validated incidents in 2016 which recorded 133 validated election-related incidents. Whereas in 2019, we recorded 60 violated election incidents,” pahayag pa ni Fajardo.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.