Breaking News

Share this information:

The Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) on Friday has approved the updated lists of countries, jurisdictions, and/or territories classified as “red, yellow, or green” for travel ban, Presidential spokesperson Harry Roque announced.

The categories determine whether or not passengers from a certain country, jurisdiction, and/or territory would be restricted to enter the Philippines based on the level of COVID-19 transmission risk. Such will be based on the disease incidence rate.

“This new classification shall take effect on September 19, 2021 until September 30, 2021,” Roque declared in a statement.

Now included in the “red” list are Grenada, Papua New Guinea, Serbia and Slovenia along with the previously-listed “red” countries such as Azerbaijan, Guadeloupe, Guam, Israel, Kosovo, Montenegro, North Macedonia, Saint Lucia, and Switzerland.

Under the travel restrictions, passengers from nations labelled as “red” carry a “high risk” and are then legally barred to enter the Philippines.

This, however, exempts returning overseas Filipinos who will arrive in the country through government-initiated or non-government repatriation programs and/or special commercial flights, provided that it is bound by the existing resolutions or policies of IATF-EID.

Meanwhile, moderate-risk countries, territories, and/or jurisdictions are logged in “yellow” list and those with low risk are considered under “green” list.

The “green” list, on the other hand, include American Samoa, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Chad, China, Comoros, Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Falkland Islands (Malvinas), Gabon, Hong Kong (Special Administrative Region of China), Hungary, Madagascar, Mali, Federated States of Micronesia, and Montserrat.

Few more places covered under the “low-risk” list are New Caledonia, New Zealand, Niger, Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Poland, Saba (Special Municipality of the Kingdom of Netherlands), Saint Pierre and Miquelon, Sierra Leone, Sint Eustatius, Taiwan, Algeria, Bhutan, Cook Islands, Eritrea, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, Nicaragua, Niue, North Korea, Saint Helena, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Sudan, Syria, Tajikstan, Tanzania, Tokelau, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Vanuatu, and Yemen.

The Palace spokesman lastly pointed out that all other countries, jurisdictions, and/or territories failed to get mentioned are classified in the “yellow” list.

Inbound passengers coming from the moderate-risk countries or who had a travel history in places under the “yellow” list within the past 14 days prior to their arrival at the Philippine airport are required to undergo strict monitoring of entry, COVID-19 testing, and quarantine protocols.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: